University of Alberta- Eligibility, Department and Faculty


Entry requirements

For admission to the University of Alberta, international students will need to meet the academic and language requirements. Each program has specific academic entry requirements and students are advised to check the entry criteria for their chosen course of study. Certain courses at the U of A do allow for credit transfer and recognition of prior qualifications/study.

All programs at the U of A are taught in English, apart from at Campus Saint-Jean where programs are taught in French.

There are a number of ways students can meet the English language requirements. They can:

  • Prove prior education taken in the English language at a recognized institution
  • Successfully complete an English language proficiency test
  • Successfully complete the Bridging Program

Students will need an overall IELTS score of 6.5 with no band less than 6.0 or equivalent.

Department and Faculty

Teaching quality

Regularly recognized by university rankings across the world, the University of Alberta is well-known for its high-quality research and teaching. More than CAD 513 million is externally invested into the university’s research every year.

All of the U of A’s faculties stand out academically in their own way, with professors who are passionate about their subject areas who are qualified to provide a leading education. U of A professors have received 41, 3M teaching fellowships, which is Canada’s highest honor for post-secondary faculty. This is the most among all Canadian universities.

The Faculty of Education has placed within the top four faculties of its kind in Canada for four consecutive years. The Faculty of Engineering has an esteemed global alumni network which is known for its commitment to improving issues in society. The Faculty of Science has an academic team which has won many awards, with several members being part of national organizations such as the Royal Society of Canada.


Spread over five campuses, the University of Alberta has 18 faculties with many research centres and institutes.

  • Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Alberta School of Business
  • Augustana Campus (fine arts, humanities, physical education, science, and social sciences)
  • Campus Saint-Jean (French-language faculty)
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Extension
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research
  • Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
  • Faculty of Native Studies
  • Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Faculty of Nursing
  • Faculty of Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation
  • Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
  • School of Public Health
  • Faculty of Science

There are also two affiliated colleges, namely St. Joseph’s College and St. Stephen’s College.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *